Beacon Roads Cycling Club
Beacon Roads Cycling Club



About Beacon RCC


Club Runs

Club Races

Open Races

  Little Mountain TT

  Open 10 TT

  Beacon Road Race

  Closed Circuit Race



Non-Beacon Events

Social Activities

Reference / Resources

Picture Gallery

Message Board

Site Map & Search

Contact Us

History of the Jack Clements Memorial Little Mountain Time Trial

The Beacon Mountain Time Trial was first run in 1948. The young group of cyclists who had formed the club in 1946 took little time to hatch the notion of a seriously testing time trial. Using Clee Hill and a selection of other climbs that scramble out of the Worcestershire Teme valley, they devised a highly demanding 62-mile course.

Profile of the original 62 mile course including total ascent of 1730m

The Beacon Mountain Time Trial was soon established as one of the classic tests of stamina, speed and skill. Olympic medallist Bob Maitland was the fitting first winner and he took the honours for the first three years [report]. 100-mile legend Ray Booty claimed the trophy in 1961 when Beryl Burton broke the 10-mile competition record in the accompanying Ladies 10-mile event. The 1963 event was won by Graham Webb who went on to become the World Amateur Road Race Champion in 1967 [report]. The course was shortened to 39.5 miles in the 1960's but still retains the challenging climbs of Stanford Bank and Ankerdine. The Beacon's own Steve Jones was the victor in 1991 and more recently Stuart Dangerfield has dominated at the top of the result board.


Event Details

The Course

Event History







Course map

Past winners


Prize list

Course description

Past results & start sheets archive


Entry form

Course instructions

Memories & press cuttings


Note for competitors

Hill climbs

Historic film clips


Finding the HQ

Course profile

Jack Clements - Who was he?


Start sheet

Aerial tour of the course



Course records


Contact the Organiser


Copyright © 2007 Beacon Roads Cycling Club - All rights reserved