Beacon Academy 2024 events

The Beacon Cycling Academy’s 2024 coaching sessions will start at Moseley School in mid January. Please see below for details of the sessions scheduled to date. We’re also planning on putting on a number of Academy racing events again this year. Details of these will be listed in due course.

Moseley School Fitness Centre coaching sessions:

1 Wednesday 17 January 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
2 Wednesday 24 January 17:30-18:30 (cancelled due to illness)
3 Wednesday 31 January 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
4 Wednesday 7 February 17:30-18:30 (entry page)

Ackers Adventure off-road Go-Ride sessions:

Tuesday 13 February 12:00-15:00 (entry page)
Wednesday 3 April 12:00-15:00 (entry page)

Ackers Adventure coaching sessions:

1 Wednesday 21 February 17:00-18:00 (entry page)
2 Wednesday 28 February 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
3 Wednesday 6 March 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
4 Wednesday 13 March 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
5 Wednesday 20 March 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
6 Wednesday 10 April 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
7 Wednesday 24 April 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
8 Wednesday 15 May 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
9 Wednesday 22 May 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
10 Wednesday 29 May 11:30-12:30 (entry page)
11 Wednesday 5 June 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
12 Tuesday 11 June 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
13 Wednesday 26 June 17:30-18:30 (entry page)
14 Thursday 11 July 17:30-18:30 (entry page)

Ackers Adventure grass track Go-Ride session:

Wednesday 17 July 17:30-18:30 (entry page)

During 2024, the Academy will be offering some coaching sessions at various venues in south Birmingham and further afield. Keep your eye on the Facebook feed for details of any additional sessions. These sessions take place in a traffic-free environment and are led by qualified coaches who introduce riders to skills used in different forms of cycle sport and include some racing, with the emphasis very much on fun. Most sessions are free for members, with membership costing just £5 for the year. If weather conditions are bad, please check the Facebook page for cancellations.

Beacon Academy Go-Ride sessions are aimed at young people who can already ride a bicycle and have sufficient co-ordination to stay safe in a group. Riders should wear a helmet at all times, have a well maintained bicycle, a drink and bring appropriate clothing and gloves.

BSCA West Midlands Regional and National Grass Track Championships, Ackers Adventure

Day 1 Saturday 20 July 10:30-17:00 (entry page)
Day 2 TBA

We’re hosting the 2024 British Schools Cycling Association Regional Grass Track Championships, which also serves as the National Championships for age groups up to and including under-13. This event is open to all eligible riders, and in the past has attracted entrants from as far away as Yorkshire. Please book via Eventbrite to secure your place.

Academy badge

For more information, see the Academy’s webpage and Facebook page.